Who are the Tory MPs calling for Boris Johnson to step down?


Oris Johnson’s leadership has been upset by growing calls from backbench MPs for him to step down.

The prime minister will face a vote of confidence if 54 Tory MPs write to Sir Graham Brady, chairman of the 1922 committee, demanding it be held.

If that threshold is reached, Tory MPs will vote on whether the Prime Minister should remain in office.

See also  A Democratic Senate candidate was allegedly punched in the face by an opponent during an anti-abortion rally

Half of Tory MPs are expected to vote against the Prime Minister for him to face a leadership race.

Eighteen Tory MPs have confirmed writing to Sir Graham so far, while 20 have publicly questioned Mr Johnson’s leadership.

Sir Bob Neill is one of five London MPs who have called on Mr Johnson to stand down or hold a confidence vote

/ PA Archives

More than half of the MPs who voted against the Prime Minister represent London, the South East or the South West.

Five London MPs – Sir Bob Neill (Bromley and Chislehurst), Stephen Hammond (Wimbledon), Elliot Colburn (Carshalton) David Simmonds (Ruislip, Northwood and Pinner) and Nickie Aiken, have so far called on Mr Johnson to stand down or hold a vote of confidence.

Tory MPs who said the Prime Minister should quit or publicly criticized him for partygate:


Elliot Colburn, MP for Carshalton (letter confirmed)

Stephen Hammond, MP for Wimbledon (letter confirmed)

Bob Neill, MP for Bromley & Chislehurst (letter confirmed)

David Simmonds, MP for Ruislip, Northwood and Pinner

Nickie Aiken, MP for the Cities of London and Westminster

Conservative MP Nickie Aiken (Cities of London and Westminster)

/ Parliament Television

South East

Peter Aldous, MP for Waveney (letter confirmed)

Steve Brine, MP for Winchester and Chandler (letter confirmed)

Sir Roger Gale, MP for North Thanet (letter confirmed)

Caroline Nokes, MP for Romsey and Southampton North (letter confirmed)

Nick Gibb, MP for Bognor Regis and Littlehampton (letter confirmed)

Dame Andrea Leadsom (Jonathan Brady/PA)

/ PA Archives

Steve Baker, MP for Wycombe

John Baron, MP for Basildon and Billericay

Tim Loughton, MP for East Worthing and Shoreham

Angela Richardson, MP for Guildford

Dan Poulter, MP for Central Suffolk

Tom Tugendhat, MP for Tonbridge and Malling

Paul Holmes, MP for Eastleigh

Dame Andrea Leadsom, MP for South Northamptonshire

South West

Gary Streeter, MP for South West Devon (letter confirmed)

Tobias Ellwood, MP for Bournemouth East (letter confirmed)

Mark Harper, MP for Forest of Dean (letter confirmed)

Anthony Mangnall, MP Totnes (letter confirmed)

Anne Marie Morris, MP for Newton Abbot (letter confirmed)


Aaron Bell, MP for Newcastle-under-Lyme (letter confirmed)

Alicia Kearns, MP for Rutland and Melton (letter confirmed)

Andrew Bridgen, MP for North West Leicestershire (letter confirmed)

Conservative MP Andrew Bridgen (Justin Tallis/PA)

/ PA wire

Karen Bradley, MP for Staffordshire Moorlands

Nigel Mills, MP for Amber Valley

Andrew Mitchell, MP for Sutton Coldfield

Jeremy Wright, MP for Kenilworth and Southam

North West

William Wragg, MP for Hazel Grove (letter confirmed)

Neil Hudson, MP for Penrith and The Border

Craig Whittaker, MP for Calder Valley

John Stevenson, MP for Carlisle (letter confirmed)

Robert Largan, MP for High Peak


David Davis, MP for Haltemprice and Howden

Andrew Jones, Harrogate and Knaresborough MP

Julian Sturdy, MP for York Outer



Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here